A’ja Wilson named 2022 WNBA All-Star Game co-captain

The legend of former South Carolina women’s basketball star A’ja Wilson continues to grow this week.

On Wednesday, the WNBA announced that the 2017 NCAA national champion and most decorated athlete in South Carolina school history earned her fourth straight All-Star selection.

Wilson and former UConn star Breanna Stewart of the Seattle Storm were named co-captains after being the two All-Star starters with the most fan votes.

Two WNBA legends will be paired with Wilson and Stewart as their respective co-captains. Wilson will be partnered with 13-time All-Star Sue Bird, and Stewart will be partnered with eight-time All-Star Sylvia Fowles.

This is Wilson’s second time as All-Star game captain, the first coming in 2019.

Through 16 games this season Wilson has helped lead the Las Vegas Aces to a 13-3 record, giving them the best mark in the WNBA.

Wilson has dominated all season and has already earned more individual accolades to add to her growing resume that already includes a Rookie of the Year Award (2018) and an MVP (2020).

She was named the Western Conference Player of the Month for the fourth time in May and has also earned Western Conference Player of the Week three times this year.

The most recent player of the week award put Wilson at nine for her career, a franchise record for the Aces.

Stat-wise, Wilson is among the league leaders in several categories. She is second in the WNBA for blocks per game with 2.4 and second in rebounds per game with 9.6.

She leads the Aces in both of those categories and is second on the team in scoring, averaging 18.4 points per game so far.

The co-captains will select their All-Star teams live on ESPN on July 2. Wilson will pick from the remaining eight starters, two of which are Aces teammates Jackie Young and Kelsey Plum, and the pool of 12 reserves who will be selected by the coaches of the WNBA and announced on June 28.

The 2022 WNBA All-Star Game will be played on Sunday, July 10 at Wintrust Arena, home of the WNBA defending champion Chicago Sky.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.